CSA 2010

What is CSA 2010?

CSA 2010

Comprehensive Safety Analysis 2010 (CSA 2010) is a Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) initiative designed to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of the Agency's enforcement and compliance program.

Under CSA 2010, FMCSA will:

  • Reach more CMV carriers earlier and more frequently
  • Improve efficiency of carrier investigations by focusing on specific unsafe behaviors, identifying causes, and requiring corrective actions
  • Hold carriers and drivers accountable for their safety performance, demanding and enforcing safe on-road performance

How will this change affect drivers?

  • Unsafe carrier and driver behaviors that lead to crashes will be identified and addressed
  • All safety-based roadside inspection violations will count, not just out-of-service (OOS) violations
  • Drivers will be more accountable for safe on-road performance - good news for drivers with strong safety performance records

What can drivers do to prepare for the change?

  1. Know and follow safety rules and regulations
  2. Become knowledgeable about the new Behavior Analysis and Safety Improvement Categories (BASICs) and how FMCSA will assess safety under CSA 2010
    Review the Safety Measurement System (SMS) methodology document
  3. Keep copies of inspection reports
  4. Learn about employers' safety records
  5. Know the Facts

CSA 2010 Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Online Resources